The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) advises motorists all lanes on a section of Interstate 64 West in Jefferson County will be closed beginning this week for crews to improve the roadway. The closure will start from the I-264 interchange (mile point 12.6) to Story Avenue (mile point 6.6). I-64 West will be closed from 8 p.m. Friday, June 2, to 6 a.m. Friday, June 16.

Traffic impacts:

  • Traffic will be diverted from I-64 West to I-264 East or West ramps.
  • The ramps from I-264 East and West to I-64 West will be closed.
  • The I-64 West on-ramp from Story Avenue will remain open.

This project includes asphalt pavement milling and resurfacing, and replacing guardrails. The concrete pavement in the Cochran Tunnel will be removed and replaced with new asphalt. This project will extend the life of the interstate and will improve driver comfort on the roadway. The last rehabilitation project of I-64 was completed in 2001.

Signs notifying drivers of the upcoming work and detour route will be placed in the area. Motorists should adjust for increased travel times and expect delays while traveling the detour route. Signed detour route (depending on destination): I-264 East to I-71 South, then reconnect to I-64 West.

Upon completion of the I-64 West closure, motorists can expect a closure of I-64 East to begin on June 16.

Project and contract award details are available here.

The date and duration of this work may be adjusted if inclement weather or other unforeseen delays occur. Visit goky.ky.gov for the latest in traffic and travel information in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. You can also get traffic information for the District 5 counties at facebook.com/KYTCDistrict5 and twitter.com/KYTCDistrict5.