LOUISVILLE, Ky. (May 5, 2016)The ramp from Story Avenue to I-64 West is now open to traffic. It opened to traffic shortly after 12:30 p.m. It’s been closed since August 2015.

It’s important for drivers to know traffic is in a temporary configuration, and they need to slow down and use caution in the area. For now, drivers using the Story Avenue ramp to access either direction of I-65 will continue to cross two lanes of I-64 West traffic.

Engineers with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet will be watching the situation closely to monitor traffic flow, and determine if any action is needed before the full opening of the ramp this summer.

Once fully open, the new ramp will improve safety and traffic flow in the area. Drivers will use the left lane of the new ramp to access I-64 West. The right lane will take drivers to I-65 North and I-65 South, eliminating the need to merge across lanes of I-64 traffic. The flyover ramp to I-65 is expected to open this summer.