Story Ramp

With the Lincoln Bridge now open, I’ve received several questions about road closures in District 9, including two associated with the bridges project.

The ramp from Story Avenue to I-64 West closed on August 31.  We were told last week that the tentative time frame for reopening it is mid-May.   Crews are building new ramps to improve safety and traffic flow in the area.  One ramp will carry traffic from Story Ave. to I-64 West and I-65 South and another ramp will carry traffic from Story Ave. to I-65 North. The new ramps will eliminate the need to merge across lanes of I-64 traffic to reach I-65.

Meanwhile, work will continue intermittently on Frankfort Avenue, closing that road to through traffic from Story Ave. to River Road from time to time.

Finally, unrelated to the bridges project,  the closure of Spring Street between Story and Mellwood Aves. is coming to an end.  The street has been closed  to put in a new sanitary sewer line that intersects in the middle of Spring Street. The current goal is to have the work completed by December 22.

Sign up for the D9 blog for more information on bridges and road work when it becomes available : https://district9news.wordpress.com/.