Louisville, Ky. (Aug. 28, 2015)The ramp from Story Avenue to I-64 West is scheduled to close Monday. The ramp is closing for maintenance of traffic issues and construction in the area associated with the Downtown Crossing portion of the Ohio River Bridges Project.

The length of the closure has not been determined. Project engineers first want to assess the impact on traffic after the ramp closes. This has the potential to be a long-term closure that would last several months.

The closure is expected to be in place by 5 a.m. on Monday, August 31. A signed detour will be in place, directing drivers to Grinstead Drive to access I-64 West. Drivers can also use surface streets to reach Downtown Louisville.

Crews will be building new ramps to improve safety and traffic flow in the area. One ramp will carry traffic from Story Avenue to I-64 West and I-65 South and another ramp will carry traffic from Story Avenue to I-65 North. The new ramps will eliminate the need to merge across lanes of I-64 traffic to reach I-65. The ramps are not expected to open until later in 2016.

###

Find more information on the Ohio River Bridges Project at www.kyinbridges.com.

Navigate traffic with KYTC, www.511.ky.gov, and Waze, www.waze.com.